Madrid – Saturday 30 June

After a good night’s rest I was ready to tackle what the city of Madrid had to offer.  I am enjoying my hostel particularly as the breakfast was free.  The first point of call was purchase the Madrid card as I plan to visit a few of the museums while I was here.  The helpful receptionist told me that the best place to purchase one would be the tourist information centre at the Plaza Mayor.

Plaza Mayor

The plaza did not disappoint as it is an impressive place.  After purchasing the Madrid card I took advantage of the free walking tour that was on offer.  The guide, Rodrigo was very knowledgeable.  He explained the history of Madrid as we were walking.  The tour took in the area of the Royal Palace.

Once the tour was complete and I had a bite to eat I made my way to the Museo del Prado.  What a great place it was too and how easy it was to use the Madrid card.

Museo del Prado

Prado is home to the works of the great Spanish artists such as El Greco, Velázquez and Goya amongst others.  It is huge and I was there for four hours.  I did feel that I rushed it.  Still, it gives me the excuse to come back to Madrid again.

Feeling a little fatigued I took solace in the Royal Botanical Gardens.  At a cost of €3 it was a great way to spend a Saturday evening.  As the sun started to go down I felt that I had found some peace.

Exhibit at the Royal Botanical Garden

At the end of the day the only concern I had was for my poor feet as they were beginning to feel sore.

Until the next post, stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

Leave a Reply

