Madrid – Tuesday 3rd July

Feet feeling a whole lot better now.  Thought I would have a different breakfast.  So I treated myself to chocolate and churros.  A breakfast that consists of dipping pastry sticks into a cup of thick hot chocolate.  I thought it was delicious.  So did a couple of my Facebook friends.

Breakfast

Feeling happy I made my way to the Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza.  What is extraordinary is the museum was once a private collection.  The paintings date from 13th to 20th century and I have to say the whole experience was amazing.  One of the best museums I have visited.  One can only guess at the value of the collection.

Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza

I had now decided to ditch MTrip and started to make my own way to visit a couple of museums mentioned in the book supplied with the Madrid card.  The first one was the Museum of Madrid.  This was a museum of the history of Madrid.  Being a history buff I was looking forward to this.  However, the reality was a huge disappointment.  It was one room with a couple of exhibits.  In truth there were more staff than exhibits.  So I decided to make my way to the Museo de la Biblioteca Nacional de España.  Again not a big museum but it had a whole lot more to offer especially a temporary exhibition dedicated to Leonardo de Vinci.

After resting I noticed the Hard Rock Cafe.  I must admit that I will have a meal in the Hard Rock Cafe if there is one available.  Plus with my Madrid card I was entitled to a discounted meal.  After the meal I went back to the hostel to relax with a few beers.  I ended talking to people and stayed up late talking.  All in all a really good day which made me look forward to the next day.

Until then stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

2 thoughts on “Madrid – Tuesday 3rd July”

  1. I ate chocolate and churros every morning while I was in Madrid. I’m fairly certain there’s no better breakfast in the world…

Leave a Reply

