No Name City Hostel, Madrid – Review

For my trip to Madrid I chose to stay at the No Name City Hostel.  This was booked through http://www.hostelbookers.com and was chosen because the location was central and the reviews on the website were positive.

The address of the hostel is C/Atocha, 45 – 28012 Madrid.  The nearest Metro stop is Antón Martin on-line 1.  Plaza Mayor is only a fifteen minute walk away.

No Name City Hostel

I had booked a dorm with a private bathroom.  However, on arrival I was told that I would be in a dorm where I would have to share bathroom facilities with other dorms.  To be fair the hostel without prompting discounted €1 per day off my bill and having to share a bathroom is not the biggest hardship in the world.  You are assigned your bed with your key so you do not get the choice of upper or lower bunk.  You also have a key to safe under your bunk.  I also left a €15 deposit when I checked in.  It would be paid back to me when I checked out if I brought down the bedding.  The dorm itself was clean and spacious for six people.  The bed itself was comfortable and I managed to sleep well on all six nights.

Breakfast was included in the cost.  It consisted of fruit, cereal and toast.  You could also have a juice and a hot drink.  It is served in the Common Area.  There were also vending machines that sold food, soft drinks and alcohol.  There is also access to free wi-fi which is always a bonus.  There is a kitchen where you can cook your own meals on the third floor.

Where I felt the hostel scored really well was the multitude of events that it organised.  The most popular was the nightly pub crawl.  I took part in the crawl on my last night.  For €12 you meet at another hostel and have two free beers and make your way through the exciting Madrid nightlife.  You stop at three nightclubs where you get a free shot in each one.  An excellent night out.  Also on offer were a Tapas tour, Walking tour and Flamenco night out.

Overall, I found the No Name City Hostel an excellent place to stay.  Central and comfortable it offers plenty to the traveller who wishes to enjoy Madrid.  I recommend it to everybody.

Until the next post, stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

Leave a Reply

