Madrid – Wednesday 4 July

I woke up in the morning with a sense of dread.  My last full day in Madrid and the sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach about going home.  However, there was one place that I wanted to see.  That was the Estadio Santiago Bernabéu, home to Real Madrid. Not that I am a great of stadium tours I do recognise that Real Madrid is a great club with a lot of history.  Also it was free due to holding a Madrid card.

Spain was still buzzing from victory in Euro 2012 and that was felt at the stadium.  The tour itself was excellent.  In the tour you see the museum which celebrates the victories in the European Cup and La Liga.  Also individual awards are honoured even if the players were not playing for the club at the time.

You then move towards the President’s box and get the view from there.  Afterwards you move to pitchside and the chance to sit in the dugout.  For some reason you were not allowed to visit the home dressing room but I the away one.  The ends in the club shop and this is a moment parents must dread.  I saw a lot of people purchasing club merchandise.

After the tour I made my way back to the hostel.  There I met up with the people I was speaking to last night.  We decided to have lunch in the Musee de Jambon.  A place dedicated to all things ham.  There are several of them to be found in Madrid.  My lunch was the last to arrive.  That will teach me to order beef in a restaurant dedicated to ham.

After resting I was talking to a group of Australians.  They were all looking forward to the bull runs in Pamplona.  Again that feeling of going home began to strike home.

Oh no, I’m going home tomorrow.

So I made a decision to partake in the hostel pub crawl.  As my coach tomorrow would not leave until 16:30 I thought I can shake off any hangover.  It turns out that I made the right decision.  It was an excellent night.  Free beers, free entrances to three clubs with a free shot.  Madrid’s reputation for nightlife is justified.  Guess what? I was not drunk at the end of the night.  An excellent way to end my final day.

Leave a Reply

