Prague & Bratislava – Day 8, 17/09/2012

While I was checking in yesterday I noticed a leaflet for a free walking tour.  The couple behind the counter also recommended that I should try it.  Walking tours are a great way of familiarizing yourself to a new city.  The tour was due to start at 11am.  The weather was excellent.  It was time to get the shorts on and expose the pearly white legs to the world.  However, in my excitement I forgot to apply the sunscreen.  My arms would know about this at the end of the day.

The tour itself was excellent and the guide Romana made it interesting with all her knowledge on the history of Bratislava.  What was sad to see was how little of the historical centre remained.  The Communists in their better judgement decided that a flyover would be of more use.  Oh well hindsite.

After the tour was complete I took a walk alongside the Danube in order to make my way to Bratislava Castle.  I passed a statue of Stalin.  Apparently it was on display for an exhibition.

Greetings from Uncle Joe

Like all castles the one in Bratislava is perched on top of a steep hill.  In its present state the castle was built only recently.  You cannot go inside but there is enough to walk around the grounds.  It also offers good views of the city below.

One view of Bratislava Castle
A view from the castle

I spent the rest of the afternoon walking around the rest of the old town.  I could not fail to notice on how beautiful the women in Bratislava looked.  Not that the women in Prague were not bad looking but Bratislava took it to another level.

Tonight was the first night that I cooked for myself in a hostel, tuna and rice.  I survived that.  I got the chance to talk to a couple of German girls.  They seemed pleasant enough.  We exchanged travel tales and they mentioned that they were going to Budapest.  I should have included it in my trip.  We all live and learn.

Until the next post, stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

Leave a Reply

