Prague & Bratislava – Day 10, 19/09/2012

I think I may have booked too many days in Bratislava.  I had seen everything that I needed to see so it was a case of finding things to do.  This was a chance to do some laundry.   This will kill the morning for me.  Also the weather had turned cooler and there was a hint of rain.

Once my laundry was finished I ventured out to a couple of places that I had not visited.  To be honest I just ended up walking around the streets.  It seemed so quiet.  I ended up back at Shtoor for another sandwich, coffee plus the delicious cheesecake.  It was there when I realised that I had not made my way to the Presidential Palace as shown to me during the walking tour.  I made my way to the palace.

The Presidential Palace

The weather not getting better and by this time all I wanted to do was to go back to the hostel.

When I arrived back at the hostel I noticed a lot of activity in the kitchen.  When I enquired about what was happened I was told it was the communal cooking night and on the menu was potato cakes.  There was about twenty of us getting stuck in preparing and cooking the cakes.  What was great to see was the mixture of nationalities getting involved.  There were Americans, Australian, Mexicans, New Zealanders and Canadians.  I was the only Brit.  We all helped also helped with the washing up afterwards.

Let’s Party

It was an ideal way to spend the evening.  Eating good food, drinking beer and wine and playing silly games which usually ended up with a forfeit of drinking plum brandy.  This is was staying in the a hostel is all about and I want to experience more of this.

Until the next post, stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

Leave a Reply

