Prague – A Reflection

What can I say about the city of Prague.  It is beautiful, historic, full of fun and crowded.  It was always a city that I wanted to visit for a long time.  Twenty three years since the full of Communism would Prague fail to live up to expectations.  The answer was that I fell in love with the city.  There is something for everybody be it culture vulture or party animal.

Everything in Prague is compact and easy to reach by foot.  However, I recommend that you start your day early if wish to avoid the crowds particularly if you are looking to cross the Charles Bridge.  I was in Prague during September and there were a lot of visitors.  Suffice to say it would be best to avoid Prague during July and August.

The best way of gaining your bearings is to go on a walking tour.  Once you see the landmarks it is easy to remember where you are going.  Plenty of companies organise walking tours.  I was lucky the my hostel operated a free one.  As a solo traveller I found it a great way of meeting people.  Walking is not the only way of seeing Prague.  There were carriage tour and even a Segway tour too.

Here are a list of must see attractions in Prague:-

  • Prague Castle
  • Charles Bridge
  • The Astronomical Clock
  • Old Town Square
  • Wenceslas Square

All of these attractions can be visited in a day, something I managed to achieve.  Admittedly it meant crossing the Charles Bridge at 09:30.

As I mentioned earlier Prague has a reputation of being a party town.  Starting with organised pub crawl from the hostel I explored the bars and clubs the city had to offer.  What I liked about the nightlife in Prague was how relaxed they were about the house rules concerning attire.  I was wearing casual clothes with black training shoes and had no problem in gaining entrance.  This is so different to the UK.  I ended up at Karlovy Lazne (5 Story Club) apparently Europe’s tallest nightclub.  A tip is the further you climb the cheesier the music becomes.  This is pleasing for an old fart like me.

Then there is always the beer.  It is true that it is cheaper than buying soft drinks.  However, the reputation of beer’s quality is such that it represents real value for money.  There was a bar on spirits over 20% proof while I was in Prague.  This was due to poisoned alcohol being sold in the street which had claimed lives.  There are plenty of small bars that sell absinthe the strong aniseed flavoured spirit.  If that sounds too much for you then you can try the absinthe flavoured ice cream.

I was made extremely welcome in Prague.  It is a safe city to walk around.  Whatever you choose to do I am sure that you will have a good time.

Until the next post, stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

6 thoughts on “Prague – A Reflection”

  1. I know you must have had a wonderful time. I’ve always wanted to visit Prague. We rent a car when visiting Europe and most car rental companies don’t allow their cars to cross the border for us to visit Prague.

Leave a Reply

