Review of 2012

As 2012 is drawing to a close it is always customary to look back.  For myself the year has brought so many positives into my life.

Bratislava Castle at Night.
Bratislava Castle at Night.

First positive is that I have sat down and set up the blog.  There have been numerous attempts at blogging but none of them had amounted to much and I soon gave up.  It helped that I chose travel as the topic.  It has given me something to focus on.  I am happy with the way it has turned out.  Now this blog has over 1,000 views.  This is very encouraging and it is going to give me more focus to keep it going into 2013.

Mosaic of Dr. Samuel Johnson
Mosaic of Dr. Samuel Johnson

Of course no travel blog work without content.  So 2012 was the year where I took travel more seriously.  The highlights were the time I spent in Madrid during the summer.  Also the trip to Prague and Bratislava in September.  2012 was the year that I felt I became a backpacker of sorts.  Also I started to enjoy the delights of staying in hostels.  While I was in Madrid I witnessed the joy of the Spanish celebrating their victory in Euro 2012.  The beauty of Prague was a sight to behold.  The relaxed atmosphere of Bratislava was something that would stay with me too.  I also rediscovered my love of London.  All this has inspired me for 2013.  I cannot wait.

DSC01434

Also 2012 saw the London Olympics.  I admitted to being a sceptic worrying it would be a success.  To be proved wrong was a joyful moment.  I was on jury service during the games so I spent a lot of time watching the events on the TV in between cases.  This brought people together and you could see the response to the successes and how everybody joined together to celebrate.  For the first time in a long while I felt proud to be British.  I still feel proud today.

Overall I feel grateful to have the support of my family and friends.  Also the support and encouragement of the blogging community.  Be it with views and comments or the thank you messages for retweets.

Moving forward 2013 is going to be a good year.  Be it with more travel adventures or just connecting with new people.  I look forward to sharing it with you.

All I need to say now is to wish every one of you a happy and peaceful Christmas.

Happy Christmas Everybody from midlifewanderlust1965
Happy Christmas Everybody from midlifewanderlust1965

Until the next post stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

Leave a Reply

