Ten Things to do in 2013

As the new year approaches thoughts turn to what I would like to achieve in 2013.  On the whole 2012 was a good year for me, now it is time for me to look forward.

Over the previous years experience I have found New Year’s resolutions are pointless.  They put too much pressure on you and are usually broken before the end of the first week in January.  So instead I am going to set myself some achievable tasks for 2013.  This time next year we can look at how well I have done or not.

  1. Purchase the domain name for the blog – If I am looking for the blog to grow I need to take control of the layout.  Purchasing the domain name will allow me to do a lot more.
  2. Take better photographs – I have recently ordered myself a Panasonic Lumix LZ20 Bridge Camera.  This will hopefully make a difference from the compact camera.  I know that despite the camera I should take more time when photographing my subjects.
  3. Spend at least two hours a day on the blog or travel planning – In life you get out what you put into it.  This is especially true of successful travel blogging.
  4. Start making contact with my fellow bloggers – I have made some contact with some travel bloggers.  Now I want to extend that to add more.
  5. Start introducing myself to the travel industry – To be able establish contacts will be a great way of promoting the blog but also hopefully promoting their products too.
  6. Attend a trade show – TBEX is probably out of my league for this year.  However, the World Travel Fair in could be realistic.
  7. Explore my local area more – As travellers we can be guilty at looking at the sights that are far away and ignore the ones that are closest to us.
  8. Make more contact with local people – The one thing I could say I am guilty of is not making contact with the local population.  It was only when I was in Bratislava that I started to do that and it made my visit more enjoyable.
  9. Sort out the travel finances – I have sorted out a prepaid card for travel.  It would make sense to transfer the spare cash I have onto the card.  I get cashback when I use it.  Sounds like a bargain to me.
  10. Upgrade my travel tech – I have a Macbook dating back to 2007 but it is starting to be on its last legs.  I travel with my IPad 2 but at 16GB I struggle to manage the memory.  An upgrade is in order.

There you go my list of ten things that I want to do in 2013.  If I achieve 50% of this I will be happy.

Finally I want to wish everybody a safe, healthy and Happy New Year.

Steve

9 Replies to “Ten Things to do in 2013”

  1. Great list! I’m working on something very similar! You should write an in depth entry on how you went about getting that url and switching to it, I think a lot of people are wondering/worried about that one. Happy New Year!

    Maria

  2. I see that all of your New Year’s goals are about travelling, blogging or photography. You have a passion for sure, so keep it going and you’ll see results in no time. I’ve been following you for quite a while now and can honestly say that none of the above would be a problem for you to achieve. Where it comes to developing your blog, I offer my help, so get in touch if there’s anything I can do for you.

    All the best in 2013!
    Cez

  3. That is a good list. I definitely think you should follow through on number 1. It makes the site look more professional and it feels great to have a “.com” Best of luck with your plans for 2013.

  4. Happy 2013! Great list, I especially love #7! One of my goals is to actually spend time getting to know places by utilizing quick and easy weekend trips…that way I’m still able to feel like I’m traveling even if I don’t have a ton of time to get away! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

