UK + Snow = No Go

I woke up on Friday thinking that I would struggle to find inspiration for the next blog posting. Then I opened the curtains and then it hit me. Snow had come to the UK.

With snow comes everything else and being the UK everything comes to a grinding halt. The schools shut and it seemed that a lot of people did not make it to work. It is estimated that snow costs the UK economy £500m per day.

Then I had my own personal experience of going to work. Yes, I managed to get to work (shift was 14:00 – 22:00) I could see the carnage on the roads. As normal there were no signs of gritting vehicles or snow ploughs. This meant that other vehicles were moving slowly. Coupled with the temperature falling below zero I could see the ice forming on the roads. This particularly affected local public transport especially the buses. There were plenty of people who were late for work because of this. I managed to get to work on time by catching the train. At the time they were not affected by the snow.

I could see people struggling and I felt embarrassed. I speak to people who deal with snow though out the winter and they must laugh at our inability to cope. Then you see the scenes at Heathrow Airport with all the cancelled flights. Not a good advert for the UK. It is hard to believe that six months ago we successfully organised the Olympics and Paralympics. A bit of snow and we grind to a halt. The problem is that the UK is that it is difficult to predict when we will get snow. It usually only falls once during the winter and then it last for a week at most.

As for my own experience of the day, it was mixed. The local buses stopped running at 19:00 which while bad news I still could catch the train. They were still running but I noticed that they were beginning to get delayed. I had no real choice but leave work early. I managed to get home safely but the journey took nearly 90 minutes.

However, snow is not all bad. It does allow the chance to take advantage of possible photo opportunities.

Until the next post, stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

 

6 thoughts on “UK + Snow = No Go”

  1. Honestly, I don’t know why people in the UK freak out when it snows:):). I find it so funny :):), but I guess it’s a part of winter adventure. 3 years go I was in Wolverhampton and suddenly it started to snow pretty heavy and people were like “OMG, how am I am gonna get back home now? Oh no!” like it was the end of the world 🙂

  2. I’ve never had to try to get to work in the snow so I guess I only associate it with fun. But hey, that last shot you got is awesome so I guess it was worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

