My Travel Tech for 2013

As this year I have decided to devote more of my spare time to travel I need to ensure that my tech is up to speed. There are five items that I will be taking with me on my travels.

1. iPad 4 64GB Wi-fi

 

This is my latest piece of tech. I am not a full time travel blogger so the iPad gives me all that I need. There are plenty of apps available and I can make hardware changes such as adding a Bluetooth keyboard if required. I am using Blogsy for updating my blog. If I were to become a full time blogger then of course I would look to invest in a MacBook or MacBook Air. I have tried to a Windows 8 laptop but I found it to be a frustrating experience. I am back to what I know and love.

2. iPhone 4S 16GB

 

This is my third iPhone and I have never suffered any problems with them apart from battery life. It is a device that can do almost everything. Take photos, play music, be a GPS and you can make calls too. My favourite apps are Spotify and Instagram. With iCloud it links to the iPad. As for battery life I take a power pack as back up. I never leave home without it.

3.Panasonic Lumix LZ20 Bridge Camera

I am not the world's greatest photographer as these photos show. This is a area that I wish to improve on. While I am not ready to move to a DSLR this is the next step up. Hopefully in the coming months you will notice the results.

4. Amazon Kindle

This is purely for reading. I do travel on long coach journeys and it allows time to pass. There are plenty of books stored on it. A big plus is that the battery life lasts a long time between charges.
5. iPod Classic 160GB (2007)
 

 

Old faithful, this has been with me on a lot of my travels. Lasts a long time on one charge it allows me to have all the music I need. Even better when shuffle is on.

These devices should keep me happy. Until the next post, stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

 

2 Replies to “My Travel Tech for 2013”

  1. Great gear! 🙂 Kindle is amazing when you travel in China as you spend ages on trains and you can read a lot and don’t get bored so easily. I don’t have neither IPad nor IPhone which really frustrates me, but I know how useful it is when it comes to keeping in touch with your readers. We have already planned to buy Iphones in two months 🙂 Great camera by the way 😉

    1. Thanks for the reply. The iPad is starting to come to its own. Now Apple have announced the 128GB model it could replace the laptop for travel. The camera on the iPhone is such that it can replace the point and shoot camera.

Leave a Reply

