100 Posts – 5 Things That I Have Learnt

This is a momentous blog post.  It is the 100th post.  Little did I know when I started back in April last year that I would get this far.  Previous attempts at blogging have ended in failure.  So what are the five things that I have learnt?

1. Content – Any blog is only as good as its content.  I have been lucky that I have travelled a little bit during 2012.  This has enabled me to post something that is interesting to me and hopefully to everybody else.  The more I travel the more content I will post.

2. Post regularly – One of the previous reasons why previous attempts at blogging failed was that I was not posting regularly.  Maybe once a month if lucky before I would lose interest.  With this blog I set myself a target to post at least three times a week.  It has allowed me to get into a routine which I am comfortable with.

3. Blogging is a great way of forgetting the daily grind – One of the reasons I started to travel more was due to the high levels of stress I was suffering at the time.  I ended up spending a night in hospital in 2011.  It was at that moment I knew I needed to change my life.  Travel has given a focus, indeed something to look forward to.  The blog which I update mainly from home clears my mind of all the daily stress.  There is now a focus outside of work.

4. The blogging community is supportive – I was apprehensive at first while setting up this blog.  There are so many excellent travel blogs out there.  I was worried that people would let me know if my blog was rubbish.  However, this has been so different.  There has been a lot of support out there including offers of help to take the blog to the next level.  This has given me a warm feeling inside.

5. The next steps are mine – The blog has given me control.  Only I can stop the blog.  The next steps are down to me.  With the next 100 posts I want to take the blog forward.  When I return from my trip to Vienna and Budapest I will be looking at upgrading the blog.  There have been offers of help which I will be looking to take up.  I am feeling excited about the future.

Finally, I want to say a big thank you to all those people who have taken time to read, comment and tweet.  It is as always greatly appreciated and I look forward to your continued support.

As I raise my glass to salute the 100 posts stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

Leave a Reply

