Vienna & Budapest – Day 5, 10 March 2013

My final day in Vienna and the batteries in my camera were starting to die.  As it was a Sunday I noticed that no supermarkets were open.  Being from the UK I found this unusual but I felt glad of this.  It is important that people have rest from work.  If the batteries give up I have the camera on my I-Phone as a backup.  So I was not unduly worried.

My clothes needed freshening up so before I ventured outside it was off to the laundry.  This gave me the opportunity to decide where next to visit.  In the end I chose to visit the Schonbrunn Palace (Schloss Schonbrunn).  According to Trip Advisor this is Austria’s most visited tourist attraction.  By the time I left the Schonbrunn U-Bahn station I could see why.  There were a lot of coaches parked and people queuing to get inside.  There appeared a lot of coach parties from Russia and Serbia.

Once inside the palace grounds you see how magnificent it all looked.  From the buildings to the gardens there is a majestic appearance that befits a royal palace.

P1000394

I started off inside the palace on the Grand Tour.  Like most museums in Vienna you are not allowed to take photographs.  In fact you have to all your bags and coats in the cloakroom at no charge.  You also get a free audio guide.  The tour itself was alright however, I do feel that some of the information given did repeat from the Hofberg.

After leaving the Palace I made my way towards the gardens and for me this was the highlight of the visit.  There are a few paths to walk to reach the end of the garden but once at the top you are rewarded with an impressive view of the city of Vienna.

P1000421

This was the perfect opportunity for everybody to ask to take photos of each other using their camera.  I must admit that I was nervous using better cameras than mine but everybody seemed happy with the results.  One Japanese man was so impressed with my photography he asked me twice to take a photo.  Making my way back down to the palace I walked through the woods.  I had to stop while I saw this man feeding a squirrel.  It was one of those moments where you had to stop and take a photo.

P1000441

By mid-afternoon I decided that I needed to leave and make my way towards the Voltsplatz and explore the area around parliament.  Also I was feeling hungary and I wanted to eat a Bratwurst.  In the end I just wanted to walk through the city centre back to my hostel.

Tomorrow I leave for Budapest.  It will be a new destination and I am looking forward to this.

Until the next post stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

4 thoughts on “Vienna & Budapest – Day 5, 10 March 2013”

  1. I’m planning to take someone to Vienna this summer. Your post made me smile :)))) and I look forward to my August trip. Budapest sounds like a plan to me as well x

Leave a Reply

