Vienna & Budapest – Day 7, 13 March 2013

After such a good day yesterday I wondered if today could match it.  We all agreed that we would meet up in the hostel reception before going somewhere else for breakfast.  Myself and Marion were there on time but no Ceylan.  Neither of us could remember her room number so Marion asked reception and to my amazement they gave it to her.  Ceylan was still asleep but said she would meet us over the road.

It is good to have something else to eat for breakfast than cereal and cold meat.  The ham and eggs tasted good.  Ceylan came over and we sat and planned our day ahead.  We were going to meet up with others from the walking tour at the Central Market Hall.

The Central Market Hall
The Central Market Hall

The weather felt colder today but was still acceptable.  Yet again I was offered a chance to purchase a Iphone.  Again I declined but I had heard that somebody had their phone stolen at the Szimpla Bar last night.

We met up with Bree and Martin.  It was a good opportunity to buy some souvenirs.  The prices seemed cheaper in here and I ended up buying some paprika.  Downstairs was home to the food section.  Ceylan and Marion suggested that we purchased some food to have for a picnic later.  I agreed that it was a good idea.  Upstairs was where you could purchase other souvenirs.  More importantly there were cafes and bars.  These were where the locals would meet up.  One piece of travel advice I always take is eat where the locals eat.  There was a wide range of food available to eat.  I chose to eat a langos.  It is sort of pizza base that can be eaten sweet or savoury.  Indulging my sweet tooth I chose to have mine with vanilla.  It was really filling and delicious.

Langos with Vanilla
Langos with Vanilla

We had to say goodbye to Bree who was leaving today.  Martin had also disappeared by then.  The rest of us agreed that we should aim for the Opera House.  The weather was improving so the walk was good.  We reached the Opera House but while we could go inside there were no tours until further in the afternoon.

Inside the Opera House
Inside the Opera House

The one place we wanted to visit was the House of Terror.  It is a museum that was once the headquarters of both the Hungarian Nazis and Communists.  Before you enter the museum you see photos of the people who were executed during the period.  It is a chilling place to visit.  The fact that nobody said anything during the visit was enough for me.

House of Terror
House of Terror

After a cup of coffee our spirits returned and we made our way towards Heroes’ Square.  This was an impressive place to see.  There were not many people there but I could imagine during the summer would be full of people.  To the back of the square there is a small park, an ideal spot to have a picnic.  I had brought myself some smoked sausage, ham, pork and some fruit.  It was good to relax.  Eating al-fresco is something I could get used to.

My picnic
My picnic

In the evening Marion and I said we would meet up with Ceylan later.  We had gone to the Kiedo bar and restaurant for something to eat.  It was full, that is always a good sign.  We both chose Goulash soup followed by Duck Breast with Honey Mustard Gnocchi. I love it but Marion could not finish hers.  As usual I washed it down with beer.

Duck Breast with Honey Mustard Gnocchi
Duck Breast with Honey Mustard Gnocchi

We met up with Ceylan at the Instants Ruin Bar.  An unusual place you could not enter until you had to pay to leave your coat in the cloakroom.  Back home it is optional and you take it into the bar at your own risk.  Ceylan brought along a friend she had met.  I think his name was Alex.  He was a good laugh.  I enjoyed the night again.  There was a little sadness in the air as it was Ceylan’s last night in Budapest.  Tomorrow she leaves for Vienna.  I hope she wakes up in time.

Until the next post, stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

Leave a Reply

