Vienna & Budapest – Day 9, 15 March 2013

It is time to leave Budapest today.  Sadness is filling up my heart as it is the start of my journey home.  I will spend a night in Vienna before I finally leave for home.

I checked out on time and thanked the hostel for a wonderful experience.  This has been one of the best hostels I have stayed in.  As I left I noticed that it had snowed during the night and left quite a covering.  Today is also a national holiday in Hungary celebrating the 1848 revolution so everything seemed quite but there were plenty of flags flying about.

I arrived at the coach station and everything seemed alright.  There were people waiting for their coach.  There was also a reporter and camera crew from the local TV station.  I was hoping that they might ask me for an interview.  Sadly, my quest for stardom was thwarted.

I had began to wonder why there was no information about coaches to Vienna.  So I went up to the ticket office and ask about the check-in times.  It was there I was told that all coaches to Vienna had been cancelled for the day and I would need to make my way to the railway station.  Taking this news in I was a little concerned on what I was going to do next.  Being stuck in Budapest was not the worst situation to be in.  After weighing up my options I decided it would be best to stay in Budapest for an extra day.  After getting my ticket changed free of charge I went back to the hostel to see if I could book another night there.  To my relief there was still room and at €10 it worked out cheaper than staying in Vienna.

After spending a couple of hours in the hostel I checked in.  This was my opportunity to explore Buda which I missed out on the previous day.  It was cold outside and being a public holiday there were not many people outside.  Staying in the warm and drinking Pilinka was a better idea.  I did get the chance to explore Buda.  It just felt strange not seeing people about on a Friday afternoon.  Normally, I would be working public holidays back home.

View of the Parliament Building from Buda.
View of the Parliament Building from Buda.

I treated myself to a warming cup of coffee and a large slice of chocolate cake.  From there I made my way back to the hostel.  This was my chance to do some washing.  It will save me from doing it when I got home.  I spent the evening relaxing in the bar with a couple of beers before going to bed.  Despite what happened today I considered it a plus.  Staying in Budapest was a bonus as I had become rather fond of the city.  Also the next two days were going to be spent on the road.

Until the next post stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

Leave a Reply

