Schönbrunn Palace – Vienna

The Schönbrunn Palace is one of the most visited attractions in Vienna.  In 2011 it attracted over 2½ million visitors. Schönbrunn literally means ‘beautiful spring’. The palace was the summer residence of the Habsburgs.

Schönbrunn Palace
Schönbrunn Palace

My visit took place in March but I could why it is so popular. There were plenty of visitors from all around the world. Visiting on a Sunday meant it felt full and there was some queuing involved. A visit to the Schönbrunn consists of two areas. The palace itself and the gardens.

The Entrance to the Palace.
The Entrance to the Palace.

When touring the palace be aware that you may be hearing the information through the audio guide as you heard in the Imperial Apartments at the Hofburg. Also you are unable to take any photographs. In fact you are not allowed to take any bags into the palace. The tour itself was fascinating and there were some interesting exhibits. However, I felt it do not last too long and was value for money.

My mood changed when I went into the gardens.  This is the real attraction of the Schönbrunn. Despite it being March and weather was a little chilly the gardens looked magnificent. I must have spent at least three exploring.  There were paths leading off to the zoo and woods.  When you climb the hill towards the Gloriette you are treated to splendid views. I found myself taking plenty of photographs.

View of Schönbrunn from the Gloriette
View of Schönbrunn from the Gloriette
The Gardens
The Gardens

I made my way up to the Gloriette. Maybe it is just me but I was disappointed to see it used as a cafe.

The Gloriette
The Gloriette

Overall, I enjoyed my visit to the Schönbrunn Palace, especially the gardens. Sure they would look better in the summer but I feel that it could be too crowded to enjoy. I was glad that I visited in March.

Schönbrunn Palace, Schönbrunner Schloßstraße 47, 1130 Vienna

http://www.schoenbrunn.at/en

Nearest U-bahn station – Schönnbrunn

Classic Pass Plus €21.50 (€19.70 with Vienna Card)

Classic Pass €18.50 (€16.70 with Vienna Card)

Until the next post stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

One Reply to “Schönbrunn Palace – Vienna”

  1. You are right, the gardens of Schonbrunn Palace get really busy in the spring and summer. Also, Schonbrunn has one of the most beautiful baroque gardens in Europe, and you will mingle much more with the locals than at a palace tour…. I am a native Viennese and used to visit the zoo and go jogging in the gardens on a regular basis. In the spring, you will find many locals pick wild garlic leaves in the gardens’ woodlands, we love wild garlic dumplings and pesto! You can see my personal tips on Schonbrunn Palace on http://www.vienna-unwrapped.com/schonbrunn-palace.html .

Leave a Reply

