Vienna – A Reflection

I am pleased to admit that my second visit to Vienna was more successful than my previous one. At least I avoided getting food poisoning and I also managed to get to see more of the city.

Vienna as a city has always held a fascination for me.  I love history and art. The reason for my first visit was to see the ‘Madonna del Prato’ by Raphael. Sure enough I managed to get off my sick-bed to get to the Kunsthistorisches Museum. However, I left Vienna I felt that there was some unfinished business.

During the four days I spent in Vienna I managed to get to see the following:

St. Stephen's Cathedral
St. Stephen’s Cathedral
Inside the Cathedral
Inside the Cathedral
Judenplatz Holocaust Memorial
Judenplatz Holocaust Memorial
The Roman Ruins
The Roman Ruins
The Hofburg
The Hofburg
The Naschmarkt
The Naschmarkt
Zentralfriedhof
Zentralfriedhof
Vienna at Night
Vienna at Night
Schönbrunn Palace
Schönbrunn Palace

I felt that I managed to experience a lot more of what Vienna has to offer. Yet there was still more that I wanted to see.

Overall, I loved my time in Vienna with its history, sights and smells. It is a city while a capital city still felt small enough to explore by foot and getting yourself lost. To experience an authentic Viennese coffee shop was a joy or experiencing the busker playing the cello outside the Hofburg on a cold Saturday night. These are the memories that never go away.

Yes, Vienna can be expensive but with careful planning there are bargains out there. Sometimes the best experiences are free. Would I visit again? The simple answer is yes. If Vienna is good enough for me then it will be good enough for you.

Until the next post stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

1 thought on “Vienna – A Reflection”

  1. Vienna is on my list of places to see during my Europe trip in August, so I can’t wait. I hope to get to see a lot of places there (especially some churches and local markets) and avoid the food poisoning. Wish me good luck. Awesome photos, especially the one taken at night 🙂

Leave a Reply

