When Does Blogging Stop Being Fun?

It has been interesting to read the various blog posts about last weekends TBEX conference held in Toronto. There were a lot of comments saying how enjoyable the weekend was. I had to admit that I looked on with some jealously as I would have like the chance to attend. However, amongst the comments I read there were some negatives. They were saying that TBEX had become too big and corporate and it was no longer for them.

This brings me to the point of the post, when does blogging stop being fun. When we first set up our blogs it is initially to tell out tales. However, most blogs fail within twelve months due to various reasons. The dream is to be able to make money from the blog. There are many resources out there to help make this dream come true. The reality is somewhat different. It takes a lot of hard work to maintain a bog to that level. Saying that, it is still my dream but I will know that it will take time.

One of the reasons we want to start a blog and make money is so to escape the corporate life. This is especially true of travel bloggers. The idea of getting paid to travel is appealing and is something many people aspire to. Yet working for yourself will mean that you will stay in the corporate world. The difference is that you are the boss. As I see it all TBEX is trying to do is help the aspiring travel blogger make their blog a success and make their dreams come true.

My Grandad used to say if you are no longer enjoying something then stop. So if running a blog is becoming a chore and you no longer enjoying it then stop. It is a simple as that. Plenty of established bloggers have done so. There is no shame in stopping and I do not see it as a sign of failure. It is better to have tried than doing nothing.

At this moment I enjoy working on my blog. Yes, it will never be the most read but I enjoying putting in the work. When I stop enjoying I will stop and you will be the first to know.

Until the next post stay safe, stay healthy and keep smiling.

Steve

3 thoughts on “When Does Blogging Stop Being Fun?”

Leave a Reply

